Fun. Well-Done.  Accessible.

Shalane, Olympic marathoner, and close friend Elyse, internationally trained chef, met in college on the cross-country team. 16 years later they came together as a perfect pair to test their concept of creating meals for athletes, particularly women. Working together they developed recipes and meals which Shalane and other athletes, both amateur and elite, tested while training. Their result, Run Fast. Eat Slow.

Although the title lends itself to runners, I think the healthy, whole food recipes appeal to all humans, athletes and non-athletes. Hence the use of ‘accessible’. As I am not much of a cook and lack a strong interest in cooking, within minutes I had multiple recipes marked for the making. My criteria for cooking is typically based on the number and complexity of the ingredients and how quickly I can get in and out of the grocery store. Yes, this is another area I am hoping to improve. Moral of the story, give this cookbook a try even if only one or two recipes pique your palate. Check your local library for a copy before committing to purchase.

Notable Nuggets:

  • Food = Fuel = Get the Pantry in Shape – We are what we eat, it’s true. Diet and nutrition are key components in any training plan, as well as everyday life. When training for a marathon for the first time I saw the huge impact food choices had on my body. My thinking switched from, ‘what am I eating for lunch today?’ to ‘how am I fueling today?’. Much easier said than done, but fueling the body with the right food is life-changing. As marathon training begins again in our house the pantry needs a makeover. Run Fast. Eat Slow. dedicates a chapter to the pantry including all the staple items for the shelf, fridge and seasonal items. Shopping list done. Let’s do this.
  • Just Do It – Both authors have worked for Nike in some capacity since graduating college and I find the Nike tagline to be very applicable in various areas of life, not just athletics. As mentioned above I am not at my best in the kitchen, so I seek the path of least resistance with recipes, which will hopefully begin to change as nugget one is implemented. I chose “Hearty Minestrone with Spicy Sausage and Beans: For a soup that sustains” for starters because of the simple ingredients and easy steps. (Sidenote: Each recipe has a subtitle / tagline of sorts which I love!) Check it out. It almost looks like the cookbook photo and quite delicious. Just like the authors (and my cooking endeavors), if you have an idea and you believe it is worthwhile, JUST DO IT.
