Honest. Raw. Courageous.

Wow, what a deeply human memoir taking the reader on an emotional rollercoaster through life’s most difficult adversities and events. Glennon, yes I feel as though we are on a first name basis, begins her story as a young girl realizing her insecurities at age 10. Although she is raised in a loving family and happy household, she is stricken by the overwhelmingness of being a female in society. In order to cope she begins purging and eventually she turns to abusing alcohol and drugs. Ultimately she hits rock bottom and literally has a ‘coming-to-Jesus’ moment when she learns she is pregnant. Following her wedding she continues to struggle with body-image, physical love and aspects of marriage. After many years of marriage her husband admits his own vices, insecurities and challenges, including adultery. Glennon is devastated by the news and immediately enters the grieving process from which she learns she is a warrior, in fact a love warrior.

Notable nuggets*:

  • Representative v. True Self – Glennon survives high school and lives through college and her young professional life by sending her ‘representative’ in place of her true self. She explains that “the magic of sending my representative is that the real me cannot be hurt.” As an adult and mother Glennon writes, “What if the transporting is keeping me from transformation? What if in skipping the pain, I was missing my lessons?” Her realization is easier said than done, but embracing your one true self and enduring will support your own warrior journey.
  • Perseverance – I found Glennon’s focus on seeking help and discovering effective outlets to deal with her challenges admirable. Her daily drive to dig deep, work through the pain and move forward is a valuable model. Glennon writes, “The bravest people I know are those who’ve walked through the fire and come out on the other side. They are those who’ve overcome, not those who’ve had nothing to overcome.”

Read Alikes:

*Nuggets are pieces of advice, lessons learned, quotes, or food for thought that help improve one’s journey in this life. My dad has given me endless nuggets and I credit him for inspiring me to read books with this lens.

