While reading Love Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton over the new year weekend I was inspired to begin a blog. As I am not much of a writer or social media sharer or internet browser I was surprised by my own idea. I ran it by a few folks and I received a unanimous, “Go for it!” My methodical way of approaching anything started creeping in and I narrowed in on books and running. I love to read and run; 2016 was a banner year in terms of title count and mileage. I plan to share commentary on books read and possibly miles run.

Asking others what they’re currently reading is good fodder for conversation and bulking up my ‘to-read’ list. (Hence my reading of Love Warrior.) Recently, this book arrived in the mail for my husband:

The Daily Stoic

I inquired and he explained his past interest in Stoicism during college. It was a very timely arrival as we prepared to turn the calendar over to a new year and worked on our resolution lists. I am always looking to make personal improvements, live well and be at peace. Needless to say I was intrigued and definitely wanted to jump on his bandwagon, so he ordered a second copy.

Today’s daily stoic concludes with, “Knowledge – self-knowledge in particular – is freedom.”

Hopefully the journey of beginning and developing this blog will provide me some self-knowledge. When reading, particularly non-fiction, I try to gain at least one nugget of information, whether it be facts, advice, a quote, or simply food for thought. So, The Daily Stoic: 366 Meditations on Wisdom, Perseverance, and the Art of Living is right up my alley and I look forward to sharing more nuggets throughout the year.

